A Judas betrayal

They weren't kidding when they said that every day brings a different battle. Yet they say, choose your battles wisely. How do you go about choosing a battle to fight when you are alone in your fight? When you are feeling victimized by life and it's uncertainties it is hard to find security in what's before you. Time has shown us that change is inevitable and that nothing is forever, so how do you approach anything with "healthy" skepticism? I used to think that the benefit of the doubt was more of a wild card, gifted when potential was shown, but a lot of the time what's presented is an illusion. People know exactly what to do or say to get their needs met (myself included) and no matter how informed or prepared you are (or think you are), you will have to endure at least one gut-wrenching deception that will forever change your soul.

I have spent most of my adult life trying to decipher people's actions. Trying to figure out why they've done what they've done. Why did they hurt me? Playing dumb was a huge contributing factor to why I was often betrayed. I turned the other cheek far too often. I didn't call people out on their bullshit for fear of driving them away, when in all reality it might have saved me the heart ache I had to deal with when they actually left. But at least I would have had the satisfaction of getting rid of them before getting hurt. But is that really satisfying when the things worth having have to be worked for?

written on 08/20/2014 at 2:31 P.M.
-

before | forward