Prison visit 101

I finally got approved for his visiting list, and I went to see him Saturday. I've never visited anyone in Prison, so I was nervous and very unsure of how to go about it. The prison he's located at has two buildings. It was consolidated into the same prison way back when, but they still left the buildings separate so there's no way to go to one building from the other without driving. I got to the first building and I was clueless about getting past the gate, then I drove a little further down and parked and went into the door, but there was no one there. After a few minutes, I saw others appear and finally the door opened a little after 8:30 am. I filled out a visiting form, turned in my license, and waited for a few minutes until a CO called me. Once I got through the door, the first person I saw was him. He was smiling. I hugged him and he gave me a kiss. It felt so good. Too good. It was good to see him, he looks aged, mostly because of his beard, but I could tell he has been stressed. We sat down at cafeteria style tables and we looked deep into each others eyes. The feeling of happiness could not have been any bolder. The couples and families around us looked very distressed. They were very solemn, and some were arguing the minute they sat down. I can't imagine how for some, prison disrupts their families. We spent our hour laughing and talking, which I can say was worth the 20 mile trip. It's funny though because once the CO advised that our hour had been up, I was ready to walk out the door. He laughed, and told me it was OK for me to say bye. Jo laughed too, but I went back and gave him a hug and kiss. Then the CO said, "Ok, that's enough." I got nervous, so I let go of Jo, but he held me tight and kissed me again. We said bye, my heart sunk, but I am so glad this is almost over. I only hope for Jo, that this is his last time in there, and that this experience serves as a reminder that his freedom isn't worth "doing what he wants to do."

written on 10/20/2014 at 10:03 A.M.
-

before | forward