She knows now

I started to write this morning but then I stopped myself because on any given day things occur out of nowhere and well, I like to be able to capture the misfortune in one entry. Sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn't but for some reason I knew today would be eventful. One of those days that is going to go down in my mental history book as a day I will never forget. I suppose you don't get out of this stint alive anyway, might as well capture it all to teach the next person what not to do, right?

I went to the interview for the part time job. The HR lady was really nice and she seemed to like me. She asked me to come back on Friday to meet with the customer service manager to see if I'm okay with being a cashier. Um, if I wanted a part time job that required extra thinking woul d I have applied to the store, lady? I'll take what I get, and if I don't like it the bright side is the paycheck. End of story.

When I got back to work my sister sent me an e-mail asking if I ever really went to the interview or if that was a lie. I was annoyed but somehow I felt the need to validate my truth. After I explained who, what, when, where and why, she responded in a smug tone, "Uh huh. SURE!" Sure? That added to my irritation so the beginning of the end commenced:

Me: I really did go you know.
Sis: Uh huh.
Me: I have news for you, you know?
Sis: What's that? You're moving?
Me: Yes.
Sis: When?
Me: Saturday.
Sis: Do you want me to help you pack? I have storage bins you can put your stuff in. As soon as we get home from work I'll help you pack.
Me: Wh-- (phone slams)
...Long story short, that conversation was over long before it began, but at least she knows now. And I don't have to worry about telling my parents, because she will do it for me. Like she always does. And I mean, always does.

written on 02/12/2014 at 1:17 P.M.
-

before | forward